Contra Costa Board of Supervisors Installs Karen Mitchoff as Chair, Federal Glover as Vice Chair 

Contra Costa County Supervisors Karen Mitchoff and Federal Glover.

MARTINEZ, CA (Jan. 11, 2022) – The Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors held a swearing-in ceremony for Supervisor Karen Mitchoff as Board Chair and Supervisor Federal Glover as Vice Chair at its January 11, 2022 Board meeting.

District 4 Supervisor Karen Mitchoff, who began her public service in 1981 and has served Contra Costa County as an elected Supervisor since January 2011, takes the leadership role from outgoing Chair, Supervisor Diane Burgis of District 3.

Supervisor Mitchoff expressed her thanks to Supervisor Burgis as well as her readiness to tackle our County’s issues. “I thank Supervisor Burgis for her dedication to keeping the County going strong and moving forward while addressing the impacts of COVID-19 on our communities. As Chair, I intend to work with my colleagues to support public health measures that protect lives and keep our workers and residents healthy and safe, support and push for the delivery of quality programs and services to meet the needs of individuals, families, businesses and communities, and move the County toward greater economic recovery and normalcy in what has been unprecedented times.”

“In my final year as an elected official for Contra Costa County, I am excited about what lies ahead and ready to work together to keep improving the quality of life in our County,” said Supervisor Mitchoff.

District 5 Supervisor Federal Glover will serve as Vice Chair in 2021. He has served on the Board of Supervisors since 2000, representing a district that includes the County’s northern waterfront.

Supervisor Mitchoff is in her third term, and Supervisor Glover is serving his sixth term. They will lead the five-member elected body that sets the direction of county government and oversees its $4.061 billion budget to serve this large and diverse East Bay County.

For more information about Contra Costa County and its Board of Supervisors, visit the County’s website at or the webpage: