Storm leads way for MDSA champions

MDSA Storm have been selected as the Section 2 representatives for the AYSO Western States Championship in Lake Forest on Mar. 16-17. The tournament features the top four AYSO Elite teams from California, Oregon, Washington, Nevada, Alaska and Arizona battle for a spot in the AYSO National Championships later this year. The Storm finished first in the BAFSL U10 boys division last fall with an 8-0, scoring 56 and allowing only six goals getting them into the Western States tournament.

The storm includes, coach Peter Laverick, Jamie Laverick, Harrison Hornsby, Alexander Hernandez, Alex Lahanas, Jacob Asselin, Cayden Baker, Aaden Torrez, Cooper Smith, Tyler Gary, Ryan Kern, Teddy McGee and coach Billy Torrez. They also won four of their five tournaments.
Five MDSA teams won their Cal North CCSL divisions in the past season including MDSA Legends 2008 boys U11 Copper Division, MDSA United girls 2006 U13 Silver Division, MDSA Phoenix girls 2004 U15 Gold Division, MDSA Velocity girls 2003 U16 Bronze Division and MDSA Heat girls 2001 U18/19 Gold Division.

Jay Bedecarré
Jay Bedecarré
Sports and Schools Editor at The Concord Clayton Pioneer | | Website

Jay Bedecarré is a long-time resident and writer in Concord and Clayton. He began his newspaper writing career while still a senior at Mt. Diablo High School and he has been part of The Pioneer since its inception in 2003. Jay also operates Bay Area Festivals, presenting events around the San Francisco Bay Area including Bay Area KidFest annually in Downtown Concord.