5 local school’s players named winter sports league MVPs

5 local school’s players named winter sports league MVPs
RAMIRO ROSAS, De La Salle soccer

Four local soccer athletes and one basketball player were named most valuable players when the Diablo and East Bay athletic leagues announced their all-league teams for the three winter high school sports.

Junior Rylie Velez of Clayton Valley Charter was the DAL girls offensive MVP and her Ugly Eagle schoolmate Edgar Castenada won the boys award. Diego Ramos of North Coast Section champion Ygnacio Valley was the DAL defensive MVP. EBAL soccer titlists De La Salle had the player of the year in Ramiro Rosas.

Point guard Zach Schaffer concluded his fourth year on the Concord varsity basketball team with the DAL Valley Division MVP award. Schaffer missed out on the final couple of games of the season after tearing his ACL. He was to have surgery this week to repair the tear.

Northern California champion Carondelet soccer had three first-team all-EBAL players in Ellie Ospeck, Jordan Young and Lexi Zandonella. Ospeck and Young earning the same honor for a second year.

De La Salle’s NCS championship basketball team had three players earn all-EBAL recognition, two sophomores and a junior.

The Spartans EBAL and NCS winning wrestling team had six league champs who thus earned first team all-league honors. Northgate won the DAL team title and four Broncos were first-team all-league.

Diablo Athletic League (5 local schools), Carondelet and De La Salle soccer, basketball and wrestling athletes getting all-league honors):

Girls Soccer

DAL: Offensive MVP – Velez (Clayton Valley Charter); 1st team- Jenna West (CVC), Natalie La Rue (Northgate), Julia Morgan (Concord); 2nd team- Nataly Guzman (Mt. Diablo), Nayeli Torres, Abby Cheung (NG), Olivia Kreamer, Ally Liu (CVC); Honorable Mention- Chloe Herrera, Briana Diaz, Giselle Lange (Con), Daniela Perez, Alexa Avelar, Sasha Chaloner (CVC), Gisselle Covarrubias, Asley Renderos, Jessica Contreras (MD), Natalie Kenny, Caroline Welch (NG)

Carondelet: 1st team- Ospeck, Young, Zandonella; 2nd team- Lizzie Vranesh, Hailey Fanner, Carissa Capinpin; HM-Maddie Winter, Annaliese Giusto

Boys Soccer

DAL: Offensive MVP – Castenada (CVC); Defensive MVP – Ramos (Ygnacio Valley); 1st team- Fernando Escobedo (CVC), Alex Lopez, Oliver King (YV), Anthony Fuller (Con); 2nd team- Max Loza, Isaac Morfin (CVC), Felipe Onian (NG), Lucio Santos (MD); HM- Yovani Villa, Salvador Quintero, William Basulto (YV), Kevin Hernandez, Miguel Diaz (MD), Nate Walker, Reece Gaines, Nikita Charov (NG), Bryan Rodriguez, Ezra Lara, Miguel Ruvalcaba (Con), Lincoln Adams, Porfio Perez, Justin Ellis (CVC)

De La Salle: MVP – Ramiro Rosas; 1st team– Ben Parker, Seb Ramirez, Dominic Giusto; 2nd team- Gabriel Perez; HM- Max Ramirez, Sari Khleif, Matt Guichard


DAL: 1st team- Tony Hernandez, Cole Sanchez, Angelo Esposito, Hudson Blaney (NG), Anthony Hall, Andre Dargani (CVC), Carlos Herrera (YV); 2nd team- Spencer Munoz, Francisco Espinosa, Cabot Batie, Nicolas Le Sieur (NG), Alan Diaz (Con), Casey Strand, Coleman Gonzales (CVS); HM- Vincent Sanchez, Matt Hayes (CVC), Jake Trees (NG), Jonathan Dang (YV)

DLS: 1st team- Ben Roe, Bobby Cuevas, Bradley Moore, Mario Franco, Lance Hackett, Gavin Fernandez; 2nd team- Zavion Fernandez, Darin Guerrero, JT Earle, Conor Sweeney, Atri Feizi; HM –Mateo Sandez

Boys Basketball

DAL Foothill: 1st team- Jayson Downs (CVC); 2nd team- Clayton Mahloch, Luke Westermeyer (CVC); HM- Dylan Golan (NG)

DAL Valley: MVP – Schaffer (Con); 1st team-Mezziah Oakman, Trevion Williams (MD), A’dariyon Bennett (YV); 2nd team- Elijah Pecot (YV); HM- Devin Foo (MD), Dariyan Breaux, Koko Penev (Con)
DLS: 1st team – Miles Daniels; 2nd team – Noah Clifford, Chris Bunch

Girls Basketball

DAL Foothill: 1st team-Ysobelle Eustaquio, Ami Barry (CVC); 2nd team –Susie Kresch (CVC); HM- Sydney Speer (CVC), Jaley Croy, Eva Smith (NG)

DAL Valley: 1st team- Daralonie Sykes, Leniyah Fulsom (YV), Rachel Sanders (Con), Noelani Boyd (MD); 2nd team- Niamey Guillory (YV), Karen Ponce (MD); HM-Julissa Zazueta, Aliyana Lloyd (YV), Mahogany Seiber, Aaliyah Gaitan (Con)

Carondelet: 1st team- Annie Bonderer; 2nd team- Jayme Blackard; HM- Bella Zumbo, Kiana Wannamae