28 Contra Costa Schools Selected as State Distinguished Schools

28 Contra Costa Schools Selected as State Distinguished Schools

CONTRA COSTA COUNTY, CA (Jan. 8, 2023) — Twenty-eight Contra Costa County elementary schools are being honored with the prestigious 2023 California Distinguished Schools award by the California Department of Education (CDE).

According to the CDE, these exceptional elementary schools are, “illustrative of the hard work, dedication, and resilience shown by educators and schools across the state after communities struggled for multiple years with urgent effects to physical and mental health and unprecedented challenges to delivering education.” Schools that applied for the award were eligible based on their performance and progress on the California School Dashboard. Indicators include assessment results, chronic absenteeism, suspension rates, and socioeconomic data.

“It is my pleasure to congratulate the principals, staff, and families of these 28 extraordinary schools,” Contra Costa County Superintendent of Schools Lynn Mackey said. “Over the last three years, educators and support staff have overcome hurdles that no one could foresee. I commend all of you for your diligence and commitment to scholars in Contra Costa County.”

The California Distinguished Schools program recognizes schools for their excellent work in one of two categories: closing the achievement gap and achieving exceptional student performance. Elementary schools and middle/high schools are recognized in alternate years; therefore, awardees hold the title for two years. The list of twenty-eight recognized schools (in alphabetical order, according to District) for 2023 is below.

  • Canyon Elementary, Canyon Elementary
  • Lafayette Elementary, Happy Valley Elementary
  • Lafayette Elementary, Burton Valley Elementary
  • Lafayette Elementary, Lafayette Elementary
  • Moraga Elementary, Los Perales Elementary
  • Moraga Elementary, Donald L. Rheem Elementary
  • Moraga Elementary, Camino Pablo Elementary
  • Mt. Diablo Unified, Sequoia Elementary
  • Mt. Diablo Unified, Walnut Acres Elementary
  • Mt. Diablo Unified, Bancroft Elementary
  • Orinda Union Elementary, Del Rey Elementary
  • Orinda Union Elementary, Glorietta Elementary
  • Orinda Union Elementary, Sleepy Hollow Elementary
  • Orinda Union Elementary, Wagner Ranch Elementary
  • San Ramon Valley Unified, Vista Grande Elementary
  • San Ramon Valley Unified, Neil A. Armstrong Elementary
  • San Ramon Valley Unified, Alamo Elementary
  • San Ramon Valley Unified, Greenbrook Elementary
  • San Ramon Valley Unified, Live Oak Elementary
  • San Ramon Valley Unified, Hidden Hills Elementary
  • San Ramon Valley Unified, Sycamore Valley Elementary
  • San Ramon Valley Unified, John Baldwin Elementary
  • San Ramon Valley Unified, Walt Disney Elementary
  • Walnut Creek Elementary, Buena Vista Elementary
  • Walnut Creek Elementary, Parkmead Elementary
  • Walnut Creek Elementary, Tice Creek
  • West Contra Costa Unified, Kensington Elementary
  • West Contra Costa Unified, Madera Elementary

About Contra Costa County Office of Education

One of 58 counties in the state of California, Contra Costa County has the 9th largest public-school student population in the state (approximately 158,401 students). Officially established in 1932, the CCCOE has a long history of providing direct services to some of our county’s most vulnerable students, including young people who are incarcerated, homeless, or in foster care, as well as students who have severe physical or emotional challenges.

CCCOE also provides support services to schools and school districts in Contra Costa County; services that can be handled most effectively and economically on a regional basis rather than by each of the county’s 285 schools or 18 school districts. These services range from budget approval and fiscal support to technology infrastructure, communication support, and high-level professional development opportunities for educators. CCCOE maintains a website at www.cocoschools.org.